Travellers from all countries, regardless of whether they are nationals of the EU or third countries, can now enter Germany restriction-free as the latter has already dropped all of its COVID-19 entry rules.

The German Federal Foreign Office announced last week that as of June 11, all COVID-19 entry restrictions imposed to halt the spread of the virus would be provisionally lifted,
In addition, the same pointed out that entry to Germany will be permitted for all kinds of purposes.

“As of Saturday, June 11, 2022, all COVID-19 entry restrictions to Germany will be provisionally lifted. From this date, entries to Germany will again be permitted for all travel purposes (including tourism and visiting trips),” the statement of the Federal Foreign Office reads.

This means that travellers from all over the world can now enter Germany without being required to present a valid vaccination, recovery, or test certificate upon their arrival, regardless of the reason for their trip.

Nonetheless, the authorities have noted that there is a major exception. Even though the country decided to lift its entry rules for all travellers, it has been emphasised that those travelling from the People’s Republic of China still need to provide an essential reason for their entry to Germany due to the lack of a reciprocity agreement between the two countries.
The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control shows that Germany has administered a total of 175,005,497 COVID-19 vaccine doses as of June 7. The same reveals that 92.9 per cent of the entire adult population has completed primary vaccination, and another 71.5 per cent of the population has received an additional vaccine dose.

As for the infection rates, the World Health Organization shows that Germany has recorded 393,189 new infection cases in the last seven days.

Apart from Germany, travellers can also enter several other EU/EEA countries restriction-free. The list of the countries that have dropped all of their entry rules includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Categories: Travel


Powered by WhatsApp Chat

× How can I help you?