The European Union’s Parliament has adopted a resolution calling on the leaders of the EU Member States to grant EU candidate status to Ukraine and Moldova as soon as possible. The resolution also urges the EU Council to grant the status to Georgia as well, as soon as its government meets the priorities indicated by the European Commission.

In a plenary meeting held last Thursday, June 23, 529 MEPs voted pro the resolution, 45 against, and 14 for neither.

EU leaders must live up to their historical responsibility and give a clear political signal to Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia, confirming their European perspective,” urges a press release issued by the EP’s press room.

According to the MEPs, granting Ukraine the status of a candidate member would equate to showing leadership, resolve and vision. Yet, the same highlight that a “fast-track” EU membership, which has been required by Ukrainian leaders after the country’s invasion by Russia, is not possible.

The same point out that becoming an EU member is a structured and merit-based process, during which the candidate country must meet all of the membership criteria set by the EU authorities.

MEPs also urge the governments of these three countries – Ukraine, Moldova, and Georgia – to “unambiguously demonstrate their political determination to implement the European ambitions of their people”, speeding up the reforms in order to effectively fulfil the requirements for becoming EU members.

Ukrainians, Moldovans and Georgians deserve to live in free, democratic and prosperous countries that are proud and committed members of the European family,” the MEPs said while approving the resolution.

Over 20 years ago, in 1999, the EU Council established the Stabilisation and Association Process, through which it guaranteed the countries of the Western Balkans that they would be eligible for EU membership if they met the criteria established at the Copenhagen European Council in June 1993.

Since then, only Croatia has become an EU Member in 2013, which is also the last country to join the EU. Currently, Albania, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Turkey are candidate countries for EU Membership. Kosovo and Bosnia and Herzegovina, on the other hand, hold the status of potential candidate countries for EU membership.

Regarding Ukraine, the same had filed for EU membership only four days after Russia started invading its territory. Days later, on March 3, Moldova and Georgia also applied for EU membership.

Categories: immigration


Powered by WhatsApp Chat

× How can I help you?